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COMMISSION APPROVAL OF A COURSE 

Instructions for Schools to Request Commission Approval of a Course 
Per K.S.A. 58-3046a(h), if the institute offers pre-license courses, they must be offered by one of 
the following: 

1. an institution which is accredited by the north central association of college and 
secondary schools accrediting agency; 

2. a technical college as defined by K.S.A. 72-4412 and amendments thereto; 
3. a private or out-of-state postsecondary educational institution which has been issued a 

certificate of approval pursuant to the Kansas private and out-of-state postsecondary 
educational institution act; 

4. any agency of the state of Kansas; 
5. a similar institution, approved by the Commission, in another state; or 
6. an entity, approved by the Commission, to provide continuing education. 

To obtain approval as a private or out-of-state postsecondary school as described in #3 above, 
contact Jacqueline Johnson, Director of Private Post-Secondary Education, at the Kansas Board 
of Regents, (785) 430-4286 or jjohnson@ksbor.org. 

The following forms are required to submit a request and can be found under the "Forms" link 
at www.krec.ks.gov : 

• Course Approval Application (RE-810) 
• Instructor Approval Form (RE-850) 

If your course is approved, we will contact you for the $50 course approval fee or you may 
submit the fee with your request. Payment may be made by check of money order payable to 
KREC or by credit card. 

Material for the following courses must be updated when notified by the Commission: 

1. Mandatory "Core" Courses; 
2. "Kansas Practice Course"; 
3. "Kansas Law Course"; 
4. "Broker Pre-License Course"; and 
5. "Principles of Real Estate". 

 
A school shall submit a new application for course approval if there are material changes to the 
course outline, objectives, or method of delivery for an approved course.  
 
A school shall not have to apply for course approval if any of the following change: 

• coordinator; 
• instructor; 
• name or location of the school; 
• the course title; 
• dates and times the course is offered; 
• location where the course is offered; and/or 
• fees charged to students. 

Each school shall submit notification of all changes not requiring application for course 
approval in a format approved by the Commission at least 15 days before the change is set 
to occur. This notification shall include any course no longer being offered by a school or if 
the school intends to close. To notify the Commission of these changes, email krec@ks.gov.  

http://www.krec.ks.gov/
http://www.kslegislature.org/li/b2015_16/statute/058_000_0000_chapter/058_030_0000_article/058_030_0046a_section/058_030_0046a_k/
mailto:jjohnson@ksbor.org
http://www.krec.ks.gov/
http://www.kansas.gov/krec/forms/NEW%20FORMS/RE-810%20Education%20In-Person%20Course%20Registration%20Form.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/krec/forms/NEW%20FORMS/RE-850%20Education%20Instructor%20Approval%20Form.pdf
mailto:krec@ks.gov
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The school coordinator and instructor(s) should review and become particularly familiar with 
K.S.A. 58-3046a of the Kansas Real Estate Brokers' and Salespersons' License Act and the 
following regulations: K.A.R. 86-1-10 through 86-1-13, 86-1-16 and 86-1-17, which are available 
at www.krec.ks.gov.  

If you have any questions, please call KREC at (785) 296-3411 or e-mail krec@ks.gov. 
 
Course Approval Policy 
Courses designated as elective hours shall contribute to the maintenance and improvement of 
the quality of real estate services provided by the real estate licensee to the public. 

The following topics may be approved if the focus of the course is to benefit the licensee's 
client or customer: 

Negotiation process 
Computer software training 
Tax law 
Office and business skills 

Courses on the NAR Code of Ethics may be approved. 

The following topics shall not be considered by the Commission to meet the objectives of 
continuing education: 

Typing, speedwriting, memory improvement, report writing, personal motivation, 
salesmanship, sales psychology and time management. 

Courses will not be approved that advertise a particular product or service that is offered by a 
particular company or individual or that provides a direct or indirect benefit to the course 
provider, the instructor or his/her heirs or assigns. The commission may approve courses that 
provide a list of products or services if the list includes a sufficient number of products or 
services offered by competitors and would provide informative material relative to the course 
being offered. 

Mandatory Course Topics (subject to change) 
K.A.R. 86-1-11 provides the following topics for mandatory course approval. 

"Required Salesperson and Broker Core" - brokerage relationships and misrepresentation. 

"Required Broker Core" - one or more of the following topics 

• Procedures manuals; 
• Trust accounts; 
• Management, including all facets of supervising a real estate company; 
• Common violations of the real estate brokers' and salespersons' license act and the 

brokerage relationships in real estate transactions act; 
• Commercial sales and leasing issues; or 
• Farm and ranch issues. 

http://www.kansas.gov/krec/rules_regs/58-3046a.html
http://www.kansas.gov/krec/rules_regs/86-1-10.html
http://www.kansas.gov/krec/rules_regs/86-1-13.html
http://www.kansas.gov/krec/rules_regs/86-1-16.html
http://www.kansas.gov/krec/rules_regs/86-1-17.html
http://www.krec.ks.gov/
mailto:Kelly.White@krec.ks.gov
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