Commission Structure

The Commission consists of five members appointed by the Governor: one from each of the four congressional districts and one member at-large.

The law provides that at least three members shall have been real estate brokers for five years and at least one member shall have never engaged in business as a real estate broker and shall not be so engaged while serving on the Commission.

Each member is appointed for a four-year term. Term expiration dates are staggered, resulting in one appointment each year for three years and two appointments in the fourth year.

The Commission appoints a director who is responsible for employing and directing the agency staff and implementing policies set by the Commission.