
BROKER PRE-LICENSING CHECKLIST 
If you have been convicted of four or more misdemeanors or felony, your application must be reviewed by the Commission; the 
Offense Reporting Form is also required.  

This checklist will help you navigate the process of obtaining a broker license. This checklist is for your use and does not have to 
be submitted to the Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC).  

NOTE: If you do not meet the broker experience and/or transaction point requirements for approval of either a restricted or 
unrestricted license, your application must be reviewed by the Commission. A detailed resume and letter of 
recommendation from your supervising broker, if applicable, must be submitted along with your application.  
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In response to COVID-19, KREC is waiving the requirement for applicants to prove to Pearson VUE they are taking the exam within 
12 months of the completion date shown on the pre-license course certificate.  This will allow additional third-party exam centers 
to be utilized.  Applicants who cannot schedule the exam within 12 months of the course date should immediately forward a copy 
of the certificate to krec@ks.gov along with the date of the exam reservation.  Applicants who are able to test prior to course 
expiration should follow the standard procedure of emailing the certificate with the exam score and license application.

☐ Submit a completed fingerprint card and Background Waiver form REL-150 to KREC along with payment for the $50 broker 
application fee and $60 background fee. You may be printed at your local police/sheriff's department or authorized printing 
entity. Please contact them directly to confirm availability of services.  Click here to view a list of agencies offering print services 
in Kansas.

☐ Complete the 60-hour pre-licensing requirement, which is made up of the Kansas Real Estate Fundamentals (a 30-hour course on 
basic real estate fundamentals) and the Kansas Real Estate Broker Management (a 30-hour course on broker responsibility). If you 
hold a broker license in another state: Complete the 34-hour pre-licensing requirement, which is made up of the Kansas Law (a 4-
hour course on license law and rules & regulations) and the Kansas Real Estate Broker Management (a 30-hour course on broker 
responsibility). The pre-license education requirement can be satisfied in a live classroom or Internet based format. PLEASE 
REVIEW THE INFORMATION BELOW REGARDING EXPIRING COURSE CERTIFICATES.

☐ Contact Pearson Vue to create an account and schedule your exam date/time (Review the Candidate Handbook & Exam Outlines 
before contacting Pearson Vue). Bring your 30-hour Kansas Real Estate Fundamentals certificate with you when you go to the 
exam center. If you hold a broker license in another state: You will be waived from the national portion of the exam; you must 
submit a Client Exam Waiver to Pearson Vue after creating an account; once the waiver is approved, you may schedule your exam 
date/time. Bring your 4-hour Kansas Law Course certificate with you when you go to the exam center. NOTE: Per KSA 58-3040, 
you must be a licensed broker in your state of residence to be eligible for a Kansas Broker license.

☐ Take the exam consisting of both state and national portions (unless you are waived from the national portion based on a license 
held in another state).

• If you fail either or both portions of the exam you must schedule a re-exam through Pearson Vue and pay the required fee. If you pass one portion and fail the 
other, the failed portion must be passed and the application received by KREC within six months of the earlier exam date. 

☐ Once you have passed the exam, submit the License Application documents provided by Pearson Vue to KREC along with your 
certificates of completion for the pre-license education, Broker Experience Pages, Broker Transaction Log OR Sales Detail Report, 
payment of $175 broker license fee and if applicable, a Nonresident Form, Certification of License History from any state you are 
currently or formerly licensed in, and an Open Company Form if you plan to hold your own license.

http://www.lrec.gov/enforcement/felony-applicants/
http://www.lrec.gov/enforcement/felony-applicants/
https://krec.ks.gov/docs/default-source/forms/criminaloffenseform.pdf
https://krec.ks.gov/docs/default-source/forms/rel-150.pdf
https://krec.ks.gov/docs/default-source/licensing/approved-pre-license-education.pdf?sfvrsn=1ea76ca3_192
http://lrec.gov/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/Initial-Real-Estate-Broker-License-Application-Part-A.pdf
http://www.pearsonvue.com/ks/realestate/
https://home.pearsonvue.com/getattachment/a5e08f79-0d70-4c6e-9b91-eaf54f5282e0/Kansas%20Real%20Estate%20Candidate%20Handbook.aspx
https://home.pearsonvue.com/getattachment/789612bb-af6f-4fd7-93b3-dd4eded5f0be/Kansas%20Real%20Estate%20State%20Content%20Outlines.aspx
https://home.pearsonvue.com/getattachment/789612bb-af6f-4fd7-93b3-dd4eded5f0be/Kansas%20Real%20Estate%20State%20Content%20Outlines.aspx
https://krec.ks.gov/docs/default-source/forms/br-experience-pages.pdf?sfvrsn=b1556ca3_20
https://krec.ks.gov/docs/default-source/forms/br-transaction-log.pdf?sfvrsn=79536ca3_20
https://krec.ks.gov/docs/default-source/forms/rel-110-nonresident-form2366000f62fe6c688173ff0000b1b3c4.pdf?sfvrsn=be986ca3_16
https://krec.ks.gov/docs/default-source/forms/rec-430-open-company-or-branch-office-form.pdf?sfvrsn=738b6ca3_32
https://home.pearsonvue.com/getattachment/a5e08f79-0d70-4c6e-9b91-eaf54f5282e0/Kansas%20Real%20Estate%20Candidate%20Handbook.aspx
https://home.pearsonvue.com/getattachment/789612bb-af6f-4fd7-93b3-dd4eded5f0be/Kansas%20Real%20Estate%20State%20Content%20Outlines.aspx
https://home.pearsonvue.com/ks/realestate
https://krec.ks.gov/docs/default-source/licensing/approved-pre-license-education.pdf
https://krec.ks.gov/docs/default-source/forms/ksbn-fingerprint-list-by-county.xlsx
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