

Education Provider Guidebook

October 2021

Greetings from the Kansas Real Estate Commission (KREC). As you know, being an approved provider with Kansas offers convenience to licensees. The school coordinator is responsible for submitting accurate and timely continuing education credit on behalf of the student, reporting course schedules and changes to the Commission, ensuring course content is current, and hiring competent instructors.

Before you begin, it is important for the school coordinator and instructors to carefully review the following information.

- Licensing and education requirements. Available under the Licensing tab at krec.ks.gov.
 - a. Salesperson License Requirements
 - b. Broker License Requirements
 - c. Continuing Education
 - d. License Renewal
- Kansas Real Estate Brokers' and Salespersons' License Act and regulations:
 - a. K.S.A. 58-3046a. Licensure; educational requirements
 - b. K.A.R. 86-1-10. Approved courses of instructions; procedure.
 - c. K.A.R. 86-1-11. Minimum curricula and standards for course
 - d. K.A.R. 86-1-12. Monitoring courses; withdrawal of approval
 - e. K.A.R. 86-1-17. Responsibilities of schools

All Commission statutes, rules, and regulations are available under the Resources tab at <u>https://krec.ks.gov/resources/commission-statutes-rules-and-regulations</u>.

Stay current with Commission updates and subscribe to the monthly Newsletter at: <u>https://krec.ks.gov/resources/news</u>.

The mission of the Kansas Real Estate Commission is to protect the public interest, which embraces both the interests of the regulated real estate licensees and the interests of consumers who use their services and products. Only through compliance with state law and rules and regulations can this mission be met.

If you have questions, please contact:

Amber Nutt | <u>kreceducation@ks.gov</u> Director of Education and Communication

Table of Contents

School and All-Course Approval	4
Distance Education	5
Reporting Changes to an Approved Course	6
School Approval for Pre-license Education	7
Student Certificates	7
Continuing Education Data Reporting	8
Course Renewals	8
Course Monitoring	9

Updates to Regulations Related to Education

Effective January 1, 2020- The 30-hour "Kansas Real Estate Broker Management" course is required for new broker applicants in addition to the 30-hour "Kansas Real Estate Broker Fundamentals" course.

Effective July 1, 2020-Education Standards for Licensees:

- Repeal requirement for "broker core" course. The 12 hours of CE required for renewal consists of at least three mandatory hours titled "Kansas Required Core" and nine elective hours. The Kansas Required Core replaces the "salesperson/broker core."
- Allow for three hours of elective CE credit during a renewal period to be earned by attending a Commission meeting in person.

School and All-Course Approval

To obtain school and course approval submit your course, along with fee, and the following forms to us for review at least 45 days before the first scheduled class session.

The following form is required to submit a request for all courses and can be located on the Educator Resources page.

• <u>Course Approval Application</u> (RE-810)

If your course is approved, you will also be set up as a new school at that time.

All education course submission materials must be sent electronically to <u>kreceducation@ks.gov</u>.

Payment of the \$75 course approval fee may be made by credit card or electronic check.

The <u>Directory of Approved CE Providers</u> and <u>Pre-License Education providers</u> display all approved course and school information on the KREC website.

The Commission does not approve instructors. The school coordinator is responsible for ensuring instructors have the specialized preparation, training, and experience in the subject matter to be taught to ensure competent instruction.

If you plan to offer pre-license education, you must first contact the Kansas Board of Regents to obtain a Certificate of Approval. To begin that process, please review the Pre-License Approval section on page 7 of this guidance document.

Consent to Electronic Service

If you prefer to have all communications sent via email rather than U.S. mail, please complete and return the <u>Consent to Electronic Service for Schools</u> form to <u>kreceducation@ks.gov</u> at any time. This enables KREC to send any notices, directives, warnings, and course monitoring findings to a school through email.

Course Approval Policy

Courses must meet a minimum of <u>three</u> credit hours.

Courses designated as elective hours shall contribute to the maintenance and improvement of the quality of real estate services provided by the real estate licensee to the public. Course reviewers ultimately look for a direct benefit to the licensee's client or customer.

The following topics may be approved if the focus of the course is to benefit the licensee's client or customer:

Negotiation process

- Computer software training
- Tax law
- Office and business skills

The following topics <u>shall not</u> be considered by the Commission to meet the objectives of continuing education:

Typing, speedwriting, memory improvement, report writing, personal motivation, salesmanship, sales psychology

Courses on the NAR Code of Ethics may be approved if the three-hour minimum requirement is met.

The Commission will not approve courses that advertise particular products or services offered by a particular company or individual or that provide a direct or indirect benefit to the course provider, instructor or his/her heirs or assigns. The Commission may approve courses that provide a list of products or services if the list includes a sufficient number of products or services offered by competitors and would provide informative material relative to the course being offered.

Kansas Required Core

Salespersons and Brokers must complete 12 hours to renew, including at least 3 mandatory hours in an approved course titled: "Kansas Required Core."

The required <u>outline for the Kansas Required Core course</u> is located on the <u>Educator Resources</u> <u>page</u>.

Distance Education

"Distance education course" means a course for which the school provides instructional materials by mail or electronic transmission to students who are physically separated from the instructor for all or a portion of the course.

In addition to meeting the requirements for all-course approval, each school offering a distance education course must also provide:

- The means to access the distance education course as it will be offered to students;
- Evidence of sufficient information technology support to enable students to complete the distance education course;
- documentation on how the distance education course will require active participation by each student and substantial interaction between the students and the instructor, other students, or a computer program; and

• evidence that the system used for testing students will scramble questions and items for any quizzes or examinations to ensure a random presentation.

Quizzes and Exams

For Continuing Education and the four-hour Kansas Broker Law course:

K.A.R. 86-1-10(c)(3) and amendments thereto, requires each student to answer at least 10 quiz or examination questions per credit hour for courses approved pursuant to K.S.A. 58-3046a(e-f).

For Principles of Real Estate, Kansas Practice Course, Broker Fundamentals, and Broker Management courses:

K.A.R. 86-1-10(c)(4) and amendments thereto, requires each student to answer at least 50 quiz or examination questions for courses approved pursuant to K.S.A. 58-3046a(a-d).

For all courses:

K.A.R. 86-1-10(c)(5). Each school shall issue a certificate of completion of each distance education course approved by the commission to meet any requirement of K.S.A. 58-3046a, and amendments thereto, to each student who has answered at least 90 percent of the quiz or examination questions correctly during the distance education course.

Certification by the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) is not required. However, if the certificate is included in the course application, the course shall be presumed to meet the distance education requirements above.

Reporting Changes to an Approved Course

Each school shall submit a <u>new application</u> for course approval if there are any changes to the following:

- Course content or outline
- Course objectives
- Presentation platform

Submit notification at least 15 days before the change is scheduled to occur for any of the following changes:

- School coordinator and contact information
- School address
- Course title
- Course date
- Discontinuation of any course

• Intent to close the school

To notify the commission of these changes, email <u>kreceducation@ks.gov</u>.

Material for the following courses must be updated by the school when notified by KREC:

- 1. Mandatory "Core" courses
- 2. Kansas Practice course
- 3. Principles of Real Estate
- 4. Kansas Law course
- 5. Kansas Real Estate Broker Fundamentals course
- 6. Kansas Real Estate Broker Management course

Pre-license Education Approval

Per <u>K.S.A. 58-3046a(g)</u>, if the institution offers pre-license courses, they must be offered by one of the following:

- 1. an institution which is accredited by the north central association of college and secondary schools accrediting agency;
- 2. a technical college as defined by K.S.A. 72-32,407 and amendments thereto;
- 3. a private or out-of-state postsecondary educational institution which has been issued a certificate of approval pursuant to the Kansas private and out-of-state postsecondary educational institution act;
- 4. any agency of the state of Kansas;
- 5. a similar institution, approved by the Commission, in another state; or
- 6. an entity, approved by the Commission, to provide continuing education.

To obtain approval as a private or out-of-state postsecondary school as described in #3 above, contact:

Kansas Board of Regents Crystal Puderbaugh <u>cpuderbaugh@ksbor.org</u> (785) 430-4287

The Certificate of Approval, issued by the Kansas Board of Regents (KBOR), must be renewed yearly with KBOR. You will receive information from KBOR to complete this process.

Student Certificates

Upon receiving course approval, KREC will provide the necessary certificate for you to give to students after course completion. You do not need to send a copy to KREC. The form is fillable online. You can customize this document to your needs as long as it includes all of the

information on our form. However, submit a sample for approval before distribution if you wish to make changes to the format.

Maintenance of Records

Each school shall maintain for at least three years, at the school's business address, a record of each student who has successfully completed a course approved by the Commission.

The school shall keep attendance records current and available for inspection by commission representatives upon request.

Continuing Education Data Reporting

Schools must report CE credit on behalf of the licensee to KREC within <u>five</u> calendar days of the course completion date, or by the licensee's license expiration date, whichever is sooner. See <u>krec.ks.gov</u> for licensee renewal information. If the completion date is less than five calendar days before any expiration date established by K.S.A. 58-3045 and amendments thereto and K.A.R. 86-1-3, the school shall submit the information no later than the expiration date.

Schools shall upload attendance rosters to the State of Kansas server via an FTP client. Please contact <u>kreceducation@ks.gov</u> for instructions.

Any roster containing incorrect or incomplete information will be returned to the school. No credit hours may be entered into the commission records until the roster is corrected and returned to the commission.

It is the responsibility of the school to report an accurate name and license number for each student. Verify licensee information at: <u>https://licensing.ks.gov/verification_krec</u>.

Each school shall request that any applicant or licensee registering for a course verify the applicant's or licensee's registration or license number and use the applicant's or licensee's name exactly as it appears on file with the commission to ensure that the applicant or licensee will receive credit for the course.

Course Renewals

The registration of courses approved by the commission shall expire on <u>January 31</u> of each year. Each application to renew the approval of a course shall be submitted on a form provided by the commission. KREC will email you with notice to renew and there is no fee.

Each application to renew approval of a course received after the expiration date shall require the submission of a new application for approval.

Course Monitoring

"Monitoring" means review of approved courses by commission staff to ensure the attendance, presentation platform, instruction time, outline, and materials provided by schools meet the requirements of the commission.

Each approved course is subject to monitoring by the commission, with or without prior notice. Commission staff will mail a letter with findings after the review is complete.

The criteria of a course compliance review include:

- Were the approved course outline and objectives clearly stated or presented?
- Were instructions regarding the rules on attendance, credit, and exams clearly stated at the beginning of the course?
- Was the type of credit provided appropriate for this course?
- Were the course content and materials relevant and current?
- Did the instructor demonstrate knowledge of the subject matter and the ability to effectively instruct?
- Was the focus of the course to benefit the licensee's client or customer?
- Did instruction align with the approved content outline?
- Did the course fulfill its stated objectives?
- Did the instructor encourage feedback and class participation? (discussion, quizzes, activities)
- Did the instructor answer questions in a timely manner?
- Were corrective actions taken to minimize distractions?
- Did all technology work? (Links, audio, video, registration)?
- Did the course start and end on time and adhere to scheduled breaks?
- Was attendance monitored by the provider?
- Was content presented in an organized manner and free from errors?
- Did the final exam accurately assess content covered in the course?

Course approval may be withdrawn by the commission for falsification of attendance records or failure to comply with any provision of K.A.R. 86-1-10. K.A.R. 86-1-11, or K.A.R. 86-1-17.

Withdrawal of course approval during class sessions in process shall not affect credit given to students who are attending the course. Approval of a course may be reinstated by the commission upon satisfactory evidence that deficiencies have been corrected.