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Regulation Changes Reminder 

Several changes to advertising and education requirements went into effect 
this year. The complete text is available on the KREC website.  

 
Advertising. Affiliated licensees are prohibited from including in an 
advertisement a name or team name which:  

• Uses the terms “realty,” “brokerage,” “company,” or other terms that 
can be construed as a separate real estate company from their su-
pervising broker’s company; 

• Is more than 2x greater in font size than the supervising broker’s 
business name in the advertisement; and 

• Is not adjacent to the supervising broker’s trade name or business 
name in any digital advertisement. 

 
Education Standards for Licensees: 

• Repealed requirement for “broker core” course. The 12 hours of CE 
required for renewal consist of at least three mandatory hours titled 
"Kansas Required Core" and nine elective hours. The Kansas Re-
quired Core replaces the “salesperson/broker core.” An existing 
“salesperson/broker core” course taken before July 1 transfers to the 
Kansas Required Core. An existing “broker core” course taken before 
July 1 transfers to elective credit. 

• Allow for three hours of elective CE credit during a renewal period to 
be earned by attending a Commission meeting. 
 

Education Standards for Schools: 

• Require schools to electronically submit all course rosters to the 
Commission within five days (previously seven) of course completion 
or by the expiration date of the license (whichever is sooner). 

• Prohibit schools from advertising an approved course under a school 
name that is not approved by the Commission.  

Notice Regarding Extension of Licenses 

Executive Order No. 20-49 grants the Kansas Real Estate Commission 
the power to extend without penalty the April 30, 2020, June 30, 2020, 
and August 31, 2020 license expiration dates to September 15, 2020. 

 

All complete renewal applications for licenses that were to expire on April 
30, 2020, June 30, 2020, and August 31, 2020 will be considered timely if 
received by the Commission on or before September 15, 2020. However, 
the Commission will consider the renewal application late if it is received 
after September 15, 2020 and a late fee will apply to applicants attempt-
ing renewal under those circumstances.  

https://krec.ks.gov
https://krec.ks.gov/commission/meetings
https://www.krec.ks.gov/resources/legislative-regulatory-updates
https://governor.kansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/EO-20-49-Signed.pdf
https://governor.kansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/EO-20-49-%20Signed.pdf


2 of 2 

 

Can I Answer That For You?  
by Erik Wisner | Executive Director 
The last few months have provided immense personal and professional 
changes for many of us. Due to changes in staffing schedules, the big-
gest change in my day-to-day professional duties is responding to di-
rect communication from licensees. I want to highlight some services 
that KREC offers (AND does not offer) that might address some fre-
quently asked questions.  

• Online Licensing Services. I recommend you register now if you 
haven’t accessed the online license services portal. Besides re-
newals it allows you to manage affiliation changes, request license 
certifications for another state and allows you to update demo-
graphic information (KSA 86-3-15 requires any address, name or email changes to be pro-
vided to the commission within 10 days). You can also obtain a pocket card through the 
site (KREC stopped mailing paper licenses to brokers in 2018). 
 

• Email. Although KREC staff still responds to phone calls during normal business hours, the 
best way to get a timely response to a question is by sending an email to krec@ks.gov. 
Many KREC staff are working more flexible hours due to the pandemic. Therefore, if you 
have a question after business hours you are much more likely to receive a timely re-
sponse if you send it in via email. 
 

• Compliance Questions. Commission staff can guide you to relevant statutes and regula-
tions but can’t provide legal advice related to your business operations. You should always 
start by contacting your supervising broker or an attorney if you have legal questions. 

Our license count has grown by 20% since I started with the Commission in 2015. With this 
growth comes a need to provide opportunities for self-service and increase process efficiencies.  
If you have ideas you would like to share email me at erik.wisner@ks.gov.  

Docket Number Last Name First Name License Number Violation Legal Action Effective Date 

20-8503 Cannon Matt 00239263 Prohibited Act Fine 07/01/20 

Disciplinary Actions 

Commission Meeting CE Credit: How it Works 

Beginning July 1, 2020 a Kansas licensee may earn three hours of elective CE credit per renew-
al period for attending a Commission meeting. To obtain credit, licensees must: 
 

• Email KREC to confirm the meeting is eligible for CE credit and register to attend 

• Sign in and out upon arrival and departure of the meeting 

• Provide photo identification and real estate license number upon arrival 

• Per K.A.R. 86-1-11(f)(4) the license must attend the meeting in-person for at least three 
consecutive hours 
 

Note: At this time, KREC does not know when the next in-person meeting will occur.  

 

Licenses must be  
renewed every two 

years. 

Check expiration 
date here. 

CE Reminder for All 
Beginning July 1, 2020 Salespersons and Brokers must complete 12 
hours to renew, consisting of at least three mandatory hours in an 
approved "Kansas Required Core” course and nine elective hours. 

https://licensing.ks.gov/EGOV_KREC/Login
mailto:krec@ks.gov
mailto:erik.wisner@ks.gov
mailto:krec@ks.gov?subject=CE%20Credit%20for%20Commission%20Meeting
https://krec.ks.gov/commission-meeting-registration
https://licensing.ks.gov/verification_krec



